IFRS 15 Applying the Distinct Criteria

All topics related to IFRS Standards.
kagemoeng

IFRS 15 Applying the Distinct Criteria

Post by kagemoeng »

Hi

I am new to the forum and i have limited accounting knowledge.

I would like to know your thoughts around applying the distinct criteria of IFRS 15 to a particular contract. My question is as follows:

Vehicles are typically sold with a service contract - to replace/fix certain parts of the vehicle etc. Typically the service contract would provide the customer with say five services over a five year period i.e. one per year. Would the individual services provided be considered distinct under IFRS 15?
Marek Muc
Site Admin

Re: IFRS 15 Applying the Distinct Criteria

Post by Marek Muc »

Hi and welcome to our Forum.

Please have a look at this section:
https://ifrscommunity.com/knowledge-bas ... r-services

and let us know what your thoughts are based on the above and your specific case
kagemoeng

Post by kagemoeng »

Hi Marek

Thank you for your reply and the reference.

I feel relatively comfortable in saying that each vehicle service is "capable of being distinct" as the customer can customer will benefit from them on their own.

I struggling to reach a conclusion based on the second criteria, i.e. are they "distinct in the context of the contract"
In particular, I am not sure if the vehicle services can be considered a bundle goods or services that represent the combined output or outputs for which the customer has contracted? Or otherwise?

I can also see how the vehicle services can be seen as a "series of distinct goods or services that are substantially the same"

Please let me know your thoughts
Marek Muc
Site Admin

Post by Marek Muc »

I would say that service contract is also distinct within the context of the contract. It’s hard to imagine that a car received on day 1 is only an input to the service contract that will be received in the future :)